Home > About me, self development, Uncategorized > Philosophy of Mistakes

Philosophy of Mistakes

Who do not make mistakes? Well, we all do. But how many of us take care of our mistakes – in deed very few.  Okay;   but what do I mean by taking care of mistakes –  This is like thinking about our mistakes as  we think about  our success.  Well,  we can celebrate our success, share it with our family and friends. This makes them happy and feel proud of us. These are reasons – success are important.  But what about mistakes ? Do we ( or our friends or families) feel happy on our mistakes? Definitely, not. But yet, mistakes are important. The purpose of this note is to find why mistakes are important or  How it benefits us? Why we make mistakes?  Eventually, I like to focus  we may make additional  mistakes  by  ignoring our mistakes.

968833_burnt-toast_jpg33a69f2a2c9df8457cd652da3e9ea783

Mistakes are important for a number of reasons. Firstly, mistakes help us achieving success and maintaining it. Those of us have learnt riding bi-cycle, know  how many times we have fallen down from the cycle. When I was learning cycling,  every time I fell down, I  knew that it makes me fall down. So, I avoided it. Eventually by eliminating every possible mistakes and similar mistakes,  I have become a rider. There is another story, I should share how one of my mistakes helped  become a better cook.  “Misti Doi” is a Bengali recipe for dessert.  I made it two or three times successfully which my friends applaud me for. So, they wanted me to make this very dessert on an important event. Although, I was not an expert cook, I did make it well on earlier event without any mistakes. But this time, things did not go well. I had to make some changes in the recipe which made the total things fail and eventually, nobody liked it though nobody did through it on my face. The reason, this time I failed –  I knew what the good way to make it and did not know the bad thing to avoid. Some little changes in my recipe changed whole lot of things.  Now, I feel more confident – I know what to do and what not to do. In fact,  everyone has his own way of doing  it as well as particular ways of messing it up.

Secondly, Analyzing mistakes refrains us from repeating it . Once a mistake is a mistake, but repeating it,  is a fault. There are particular reasons or ways of making mistakes. For example, most of my mistakes are being made out of wrong/invalid assumptions. Other common reasons of mistakes are insufficient / partial knowledge of something/somebody, reliance on unreliable things or persons and so on. So, when we find the reasons of the mistakes we make, we develop our own way to defend against it.

Again, mistakes educate us no less than our successes. When we do something correctly as it should be, we may miss many details of it. For example, If you have a good car which will run excellent forever, you may not want to know what makes its excellency.  On the other extreme side, if you have so much trouble with your car (and you can’t replace it), you know a lot about fixing it. You fix it every now and then. Unfortunately, lives do not always run smooth which you need to fix more often than you think. These fixes comes through our experiences which comes from our own mistakes  or lesson learnt from mistakes of others.

At the end, we are not perfect, neither the world we live in. Mistakes or errors are inherently  humanly. Mistakes do not directly add values in our living and ignoring them may make us suffer more than once. So taking care of our mistakes is taking good care of us.

Prosunjit Biswas

@ Chasehill Blvd,

on 8/9/2013, 1:06 PM.

  1. nima
    August 19, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    i leaved a comment before ,where it has gone???

    • prosun
      August 19, 2013 at 7:27 pm

      Really! then my blog has eaten it.

      • August 29, 2013 at 5:47 pm

        hmmm….you are a superb writer.you should make more mistakes to write such wonderful note.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

