Home > About me, self development > philosophy of mistakes (blurred line between facts and assumptions)

philosophy of mistakes (blurred line between facts and assumptions)

In my “philosophy of mistakes” series one of my intentions was to point out different ways that let us make mistakes. One very common reason is making invalid or unjustified assumptions which I have talked about in this note – https://prosuncsedu.wordpress.com/2013/08/06/philosophy-of-mistakes-invalid-or-wrong-assumptions

I think, the other common way of making mistake is having a blurred line between facts and assumptions. Sometime, we have prejudice on a particular thing that refrains our lazy mind to give it a fresh thought. As a result, it may happen that there remains some concepts/concern raw or uncooked in our mind, and we never know before it hurts . Lets try to make it concrete by an example –

In my school campus, once I had a meeting in building named “BSB”. Having the fact that, i was in the campus for last three years, I had an impression that I knew all the buildings in my campus. So, before that very meeting time, I did not thought about the building name and location because it seemed too obvious for my attention to be paid.I unfortunately, thought of the wrong building, and when I reached there, found nothing. Later I analyzed why I have made this mistake. It seemed to me I made this mistake because of my prejudice that I know my school campus very well and so, I did not pay enough attention to the place the meeting was going to be held.

So, the point that can be made here – be sure that you are not having an impression like ‘you know something that you do not really know’. Probably this is very hard to question the knowledge possessed by yourself but sometime this may really pay you off.

Categories: About me, self development
  1. February 10, 2014 at 1:33 am

    hmm…you are right. even people don’t know them self well and it’s was your school.good write up carry on my bravo.

    • Prosunjit Biswas
      February 10, 2014 at 9:17 am

      thanks poly.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

